fsockopen(): unable to connect to ssl://query.yahooapis.com:443 (php_network_getaddresses: getaddrinfo failed: Name or service not known)




President Rivlin addresses ceremony honoring 2016 Wolf Prize recipients


President Reuven Rivlin this evening (Thursday) at the Knesset addressed the award ceremony for the 2016 Wolf Prize. He then welcomed the recipients for a special reception in their honor, held at the President's Residence.


President Rivlin congratulated the recipients and said, "The Wolf Prize, rewards professional and academic achievements, however, it stands for much more. It celebrates humanity; it promotes solidarity, and it shows that cooperation in the fields of science can overcome barriers and borders, and bring people together."


The President stressed, "We live in a world where politics plays a major role. But we must be careful not to destroy science and art for the sake of politics. An academic boycott is not just bad for Israel, it is shameful for science. Cooperation, not boycott, is the way to go forward, to find new ways to build trust between Israelis and Palestinians."


The President turned to the prize recipients and said, "You stand at the cutting edge of science, research, and creativity. You dedicate your lives to discovery. You are working to make this world a better place. On behalf of the citizens of Israel, I thank each and every one of you."


The Wolf Prize is awarded annually to outstanding scientists and artists for achievements in the interest  of mankind and friendly relations among peoples. This year, the recipients were:

In the field of architecture, Phyllis Lambert of Canada, her role in the realization of seminal innovative buildings, exemplary urban regeneration projects and leading research institutes.


In the field of agriculture 2016, Trudy Frances Charlene Mackay from the Department of Biological Sciences, North Carolina State University, for her pioneering studies on the genetic architecture of complex traits and the discovery of fundamental principles of quantitative genetics with broad applications for agricultural improvements.


In the field of chemistry, Prof. Kyriacos.C. Nicolaou of the Department of Chemistry, at Rice University, Houston, for advancing the field of chemical synthesis to the extremes of molecular complexity, linking structure and function, and expanding our dominion over the interface of chemistry, biology and medicine. And also to Prof. Stuart L. Schreiber, of the Department of Chemistry and Chemical Biology at Harvard University for pioneering chemical insights into the logic of signal transduction and gene regulation that led to important, new therapeutics, and for advancing chemical biology and medicine through the discovery of small-molecule probes.


In the field of physics, to Prof. Yoseph Imry, of the Weizmann Institute of Science in Israel, for pioneering studies of the physics of mesoscopic and random systems.


In the field of medicine, to Prof. Lewis Cantley, Weill Cornell Medical College, New York for his discovery of phosphoinositide-3 kinases and their roles in physiology and disease. And toProf. C. Ronald Kahn, Harvard Medical School for his for pioneering studies defining insulin signaling and its alterations in disease.




 Photo credit: Mark Neiman (GPO)